Naughty by Nature is the self-titled debut album from Naughty by Nature, released on September 3, 1991 through Tommy Boy Records. It was a critical and commercial success, having been certified platinum on February 6, 1992, thanks in large part to the hit single, “O.P.P.”, which reached #6 on the Billboard Hot 100 in 1991. The album is now out of print.

Additional singles released from the album were “Everything’s Gonna Be Alright” and “Uptown Anthem”, both of which were minor hits on the Billboard charts

Professional Ratings

Stanton Swihart of Allmusic claims that it was the most “contagious crossover radio smash in the autumn of 1991.” In addition, Swihart considers Naughty by Nature to be “both a pop and a rap classic,” as well as a “must-have album for fans of East Coast rap.”

Track listing

“Yoke the Joker” – 5:13

“Wickedest Man Alive (feat. Queen Latifah)” – 4:21

“O.P.P.” – 4:31

“Everything’s Gonna Be Alright” – 4:51

“Let the Ho’s Go” – 4:16

“Every Day All Day” – 5:41

“Guard Your Grill” – 5:02

“Pin the Tail on the Donkey” – 3:47

“1, 2, 3 (feat. Lakim Shabazz and Apache)” – 4:44

“Strike a Nerve” – 6:22

“Rhyme’ll Shine On (feat. Aphrodity)” – 3:56

“Thankx for Sleepwalking” – 5:26

“Uptown Anthem” – 3:04

“Everything’s Gonna Be Alright” is known as “Ghetto Bastard” on certain explicit releases.

“Uptown Anthem” first appeared on the Juice soundtrack and did not appear on early releases of the album.

“Pin the Tail on the Donkey” appears on the soundtrack for Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater 2

“Yoke the Joker”

“Synthetic Substitution” by Melvin Bliss

“Wickedest Man Alive”

“Big Beat” by Billy Squier


“ABC” by The Jackson 5

“Oh Honey” by Delegation

“Synthetic Substitution” by Melvin Bliss

“Everything’s Gonna Be Alright”

“Hihache” by Lafayette Afro Rock Band

“I’ll Take You There” by Staple Singers

“No Woman, No Cry” by Bob Marley

“Let the Ho’s Go”

“Bass (How Low Can You Go)” by Simon Harris

“Pocahontas” by Maynard Ferguson

“Take Me to the Mardi Gras” by Bob James

“Every Day All Day”

“Pride and Vanity” by Ohio Players

“Guard Your Grill”

“Funky Drummer” by James Brown

“Pin the Tail on the Donkey”

“I Don’t Know What This World Is Coming To” by Wattstax

“Welcome to the Terrordome” by Public Enemy

“1, 2, 3”

“Candy Man” by Quincy Jones

“The Last Song” by Above the Law

“It’s Funky Enough” by The D.O.C.

“Rhyme’ll Shine On”

“Devotion (Live)” by Earth, Wind & Fire

“You’ll Like It Too” by Funkadelic

“For the Love of You” by Isley Brothers

“Thankx for Sleepwalking”

“You Know My Name (Look Up the Number)” by The Beatles

Chart Performance

Album chart position

This is Hip Hop Raised Me The Blog!!!
Where is about The Knowledge, The Culture, & The Lifestyle!!! Where we celebrate the 47 years of the youngest genre of music which is Hip Hop!!!

Posted based on the “fair use” statute/ act. Strictly for Non-Profit and entertainment purposes only.  Subject to copyrights( writing and teaching purposes

#hiphopraisedme #hiphopraisedmeblog
#blogging #vlog #blogs #news #reviews #journalism #entertainment #author #literature #music #fashion #modeling #culture #education

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s